No Comments
asp world tour
(Sunday) 12.9.12

Sebastian Zietz Wins 2012 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Sebastien Zietz (HAW), 24, surfs up the beach following his clinching of the 2012 Vans Hawaiian Triple Crown of Surfing.Sebastien Zietz (HAW), 24, surfs up the beach following his clinching of the 2012 Vans Hawaiian Triple Crown of Surfing.

BANZAI PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii (Sunday, December 9, 2012) – Kauai’s Sebastian Zietz (HAW), 24, has won the 2012 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Title (an ASP Specialty Series) by advancing to Round 3 of the Billabong Pipe Masters in pumping six-to-eight foot (2 metre). Zietz wins a record $100,000 bonus in recognition of the 30th anniversary of the Series, hydrated by vitaminwater, as well as a $30,000 Harley Davidson and a $10,000 custom Nixon watch. Zietz eliminated ASP WCT surfer Travis Logie (ZAF), 33, to move ahead.

Adam Melling (AUS), 27, was the only surfer able to overtake Zietz, but the Australian fell to Miguel Pupo (BRA), 19, leaving Zietz atop the Vans Triple Crown rankings. The massive victory for Zietz marks his first Vans Triple Crown Title, making him the first Kauai surfer to win the prestigious Hawaiian Series trifecta since the late Andy Irons (HAW).

Zietz put together an incredible run during the ASP Specialty Series, winning the Reef Hawaiian Pro to qualify for the 2013 ASP WCT. He remained consistent at Sunset Beach, finishing 3rd at the Vans World Cup of Surfing and so far has secured a Round 3 berth at the Billabong Pipe Masters.

“I’m super stoked,” Zietz said. “I’m just doing it for everyone in Kauai and everyone in Hawaii. Thanks everyone who comes down and watches us, you’re the reason we have a job. Thanks to Andy (Irons), you’re the one giving me the power. I’m so stoked. I don’t know what to say. It’s just amazing. I’d like to thank everyone who was a part of it. So many people have helped me throughout my life. The list goes on and on, you guys know who you are.”

Zietz is still in contention for the Billabong Pipe Masters Title and will face off against last year’s Vans Triple Crown Champion John John Florence (HAW), 19, in Round 3.

Watch the Billabong Pipe Masters LIVE via http://vanstriplecrown.com/billabongpipemasters

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Sebastien Zietz (HAW)
2011: John John Florence (HAW)
2010: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2009: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2008: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2007: Bede Durbidge (AUS)
2006: Andy Irons (HAW)
2005: Andy Irons (HAW)
2004: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
2003: Andy Irons (HAW)
2002: Andy Irons (HAW)
2001: Myles Padaca (HAW)
2000: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1999: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1998: Kelly Slater (USA)
1997: Mike Rommelse (AUS)
1996: Kaipo Jaquias (HAW)
1995: Kelly Slater (USA)
1994: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1993: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1992: Sunny Garcia (HAW)
1991: Tom Carroll (AUS)
1990: Derek Ho (HAW)
1989: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
1988: Derek Ho (HAW)
1987: Gary Elkerton (AUS)
1986: Derek Ho (HAW)
1985: Michael Ho (HAW)
1984: Derek Ho (HAW)
1983: Michael Ho (HAW)


Sponsored Links: Metro Flyer Aug 4 – 10 2016Walmart Flyer Aug 4 – 10 2016

Content Categories